Deutscher Dirigentenpreis

October 11 to 18, 2019

During its long history, the Gürzenich Orchestra has always offered a podium for young conductors. Artists such as Gustavo Dudamel, music director of the Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, or Lahav Shani, chief conductor of the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, enchanted audiences in Cologne even before their international breakthrough. Thus, it was a matter of course for the Gürzenich Orchestra to join the German Music Council, Cologne’s Philharmonie, the Cologne Opera and the WDR Symphony Orchestra in 2017 in launching the German Conductors’ Award: an international competition enabling twelve young conductors to demonstrate their abilities in working with leading orchestras and renowned singers in the opera and concert genres. This year, the competition takes place for the second time.

The German Conductors’ Award is unique in its requirements, because it takes both the genres of opera and concert into consideration in the repertoire. Furthermore, the orchestra musicians contribute their vote to the jury’s decision. With these unique features, the German Conductors‘ Award sets new standards; taking place every two years, it helps to launch great conducting careers.

The Prizes

In addition to cash prizes of up to 30,000 €, awards also include concert engagements and assistant positions with German orchestras and opera houses. As a special award, the Gürzenich Orchestra offers an assistant position for the seasons 2020/21 and 2021/22 to the winner of the First Prize.

The Jury

Lothar Zagrosek Chairman of the jury, conductor
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Peter Gülke Honorary chairman of the jury, conductor and musicologist
Prof. Lioba Braun Mezzo-soprano
Siegwald Bütow Manager and producer of the WDR Symphony Orchestra
Louwrens Langevoort Artistic director of Cologne’s Philharmonie, managing director of KölnMusik GmbH
Dr. Birgit Meyer Artistic director of the Cologne Opera
Prof. Dr. Stephan Mösch Musicologist and theatre scholar, journalist

Support

The German Conductors‘ Award is supported financially by the City of Cologne, the State of North Rhine-Westphalia and the Federal Commissioner for Culture and Media.

Cooperating Partners

Public Rounds and Final

Public Rounds at Cologne Philharmonie on October 16, 10 am, and October 17, at 10 am and 2 pm, free entrance.

Final concert on October 18, 8 pm, Cologne Philharmonie

scroll top

Deutscher Dirigentenpreis

11. bis 18. Oktober 2019

In seiner langen Geschichte hat das Gürzenich-Orchester jungen Dirigenten stets ein Podium geboten. Künstler wie Gustavo Dudamel, Musikdirektor des Los Angeles Philharmonic Orchestra, oder Lahav Shani, Chefdirigent des Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, verzauberten bereits vor ihrem internationalen Durchbruch das Publikum in Köln. So war es eine Selbstverständlichkeit für das Gürzenich-Orchester, 2017 in Kooperation mit dem Deutschen Musikrat, der Kölner Philharmonie, der Oper Köln und dem WDR Sinfonieorchester den Deutschen Dirigentenpreis mit aus der Taufe zu heben: einen internationalen Wettbewerb, der es zwölf jungen Dirigentinnen und Dirigenten ermöglicht, bei der Arbeit mit führenden Orchestern und renommierten Sängerinnen und Sängern ihr Talent in den Gattungen Oper und Konzert zu zeigen. In diesem Jahr wird er zum zweiten Mal veranstaltet.

In seinen Anforderungen ist der Deutsche Dirigentenpreis einzigartig, denn er berücksichtigt gleichermaßen die Gattungen Oper und Konzert im Repertoire. Zudem fließt das  Votum der Orchestermusiker in die Entscheidung der Jury mit ein. Mit diesen Alleinstellungsmerkmalen setzt der Deutsche Dirigentenpreis neue Maßstäbe und dient im zweijährigen Turnus als Sprungbrett für große Karrieren.

Die Preise

Neben Preisgeldern in Höhe von bis zu 30.000 € werden Konzertengagements und Assistenzen bei deutschen Orchestern und Opernhäuser vergeben. Als Sonderpreis lobt das Gürzenich-Orchester für den 1. Preisträger eine Assistenzposition für die Spielzeiten 2020/21 und 2021/22 aus.

Die Jury

Lothar Zagrosek Vorsitzender der Jury, Dirigent
Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Peter Gülke Ehrenvorsitzender der Jury, Dirigent und Musikwissenschaftler
Prof. Lioba Braun Mezzosopran
Siegwald Bütow Manager und Produzent des WDR Sinfonieorchesters
Louwrens Langevoort Intendant der Kölner Philharmonie, Geschäftsführer der KölnMusik GmbH
Dr. Birgit Meyer Intendantin der Oper Köln
Prof. Dr. Stephan Mösch Musik- und Theaterwissenschaftler, Publizist

Förderung

Der Deutsche Dirigentenpreis wird durch die Stadt Köln, das Land Nordrhein-Westfalen und die Beauftragte der Bundesregierung für Kultur und Medien gefördert.

Kooperationspartner

Wertungsrunden und Finalkonzert

Die Öffentlichen Wertungsrunden finden am 16.10.19 um 10 Uhr und am 17.10.19 jeweils um 10 und 14 Uhr in der Kölner Philharmonie statt, der Eintritt ist frei.

Das Finalkonzert findet am 18.10.19 um 20 Uhr in der Kölner Philharmonie statt.

scroll top