16.11.2021 20 Uhr James Conlon

Alexander von Zemlinsky
Sinfonietta (1934)

Erich Wolfgang Korngold
Sinfonietta B Major op. 5 (1912)

Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
James Conlon conductor

Two Sinfoniettas: one grand and ecstatic and one in a delicate chamber music setting, composed by two Romantic idealists. Former Gürzenich Kapellmeister James Conlon sets out to reexplore two masterpieces of the early 20th century. Erich Wolfgang Korngold, the great master of instrumentation and creator of the opera »Die tote Stadt« (The Dead City) – which was premiered in Cologne, incidentally – intoxicates us with lush sound in broadband quality. Alexander von Zemlinsky however strikes softer notes: In 1934, in a phase of increasing insecurity and hopelessness, he created the brilliant yet highly complex Sinfonietta – a work of throbbing restlessness mirroring a time of horror.

Coming soon

18 January 2022

Jean-Philippe Rameau
Suite from »Les Indes galantes« (1735)

Vito Žuraj
»Unveiled« Concerto for violoncello and orchestra (2020/2021). German premiere

Richard Strauss
»Don Quixote« op. 35 (1897)

Jean-Guihen Queyras violoncello
Öykü Canpolat viola
Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne
François-Xavier Roth conductor

10 MAY 2022

Leoš Janáček
»The Minstrel's Child« (1912)

Morton Feldmann
»The Viola in my Life 4« (1971)

Richard Strauss
»A Hero's Life« op. 40 (1898)

Antoine Tamestit viola
Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne
François-Xavier Roth

21 JUNE 2022

Franz Schubert
Symphony No. 7 in B minor, D 759 »The Unfinished« (1822)

György Ligeti
Cello Concerto (1966)

Anton Bruckner
Symphony No. 9 in D minor, WAB 109 (1887-96)

Jean-Guihen Queyras violoncello
Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne
François-Xavier Roth conductor

scroll top