The 1st concert

Colognes Citizen's Orchestra

Sept. 19, 2021
8 p.m.
Cologne Philharmonie

Veranstaltung in meinem
Kalender hinzufügen:

Béla Bartók

Four movements from: Romanian Folk Dances [Sz 68] for string orchestra. Arrangement by Arthur Willner.

Pietro Mascagni

Symphonic Intermezzo from »Cavalleria rusticana«. Melodramma in one act.

Carl Nielsen

Intermezzo from the Suite for Strings op. 1

Johann Strauss

Pizzicato Polka

Jean Sibelius

»Finlandia« op. 26. Tone Poem. Arrangement Tim Laughlin

Gustav Holst

»Chaconne« and »March« from Suite No. 1 op. 28 for Military Band

Kees Vlak

»Ipanema Playa« and »Copacabana Playa« aus »Las Playas de Rio« for brass ensemble

To play in an orchestra once - for many Cologne residents, this wish comes true in the Cologne Citizens Orchestra, which François-Xavier Roth has launched in the 2019/20 season. The initiative is a matter close to his heart, but also to the musicians of his orchestra. More than 40 of them work support them during the rehearsals. At the final concert, they perform together on the big stage of the Cologne Philharmonie.

For the first citizens' orchestra, the time has finally come: after many uncertain months, the first concert under the direction of François-Xavier Roth can take place on 19 September. Actually, there are even five orchestras playing: Due to the current corona regulations, our musicians are divided into two string orchestras and three wind formations. They have rehearsed a varied programme ranging from the sublime »Finlandia« by Jean Sibelius to Béla Bartók's »Romanian Folk Dances«.

scroll top