Chamber concert 2

Kiss of a Muse

Dec. 4, 2021
3 p.m.
Cologne Philharmonie Tickets für Abo-Kunden

Veranstaltung in meinem
Kalender hinzufügen:

Richard Strauss

Variations on »'s Deandl is harb auf mi« for String Trio (1882)

Wolfgang Rihm

»Chiffre IV« (1983) für Bass Clarinet, Violoncello and Piano (1983)

Jörg Widmann

»Tears of the Muses« for Clarinet, Violin and Piano (1993/96)

Richard Strauss

»Till Eulenspiegel einmal anders« op. 28 for Violin, Clarinet, Horn, Bassoon and Doublebass, Arr. by Franz Hasenöhrl (1954)

Franz Schreker

»The Wind« for Violin, Clarinet, Horn, Violoncello and Piano (1909)

Leoš Janáček

Concertino for Piano, two Violins, Viola, Clarinet, Horn, Bassoon (1926)

Leoš Janáček, creator of the opera »The Cunning Little Vixen«, was fond of animals. Therefore, it comes as no surprise that his concertante septet (which frankly is a full-fledged piano concerto) was described by the composer himself to be inspired by different animals: Majestic owls, cranky hedgehogs and various other furred and feathered creatures can be found hidden within this playful, witty music.

At the young age of 20, Jörg Widmann was already a composer, a clarinet player, and a philosopher all in one: Why are the muses shedding tears when they should be breathing inspiration? Are they crying over war, sorrow, the fate of the world? Two humorous pieces commemorate Richard Strauss, one of the composers of focus during this season at the Gürzenich Orchestra. And last but not least, we pre-celebrate Wolfgang Rihm’s birthday who will turn seventy next year.

scroll top