Subscription 1

Lust for life

Sept. 11, 2022
11 a.m.
Cologne Philharmonie Tickets Tickets für Abo-Kunden

Veranstaltung in meinem
Kalender hinzufügen:

Miroslav Srnka

Standstill for harpsichord and orchestra (2021) World premiere*

Anton Bruckner

Symphony No. 3 in D minor WAB 103 1st version ( 1872-73)

Birth and death, happiness and misery, light and darkness: in his 3rd Symphony, Anton Bruckner looks into the kaleidoscope of all those opposites that determine existence. "Such is life!" stated the composer, who dedicated his Third to the idol Richard Wagner "in deepest reverence." François-Xavier Roth strips Bruckner's "Wagner Symphony" of all later changes, conducting the 1st version of 1873, continuing his cycle "Bruckner, the Modern." Mahan Esfahani, pioneer, border crosser and this season Artist in Residence of the Gürzenich Orchestra, swings himself onto the high wire: not with Bach or Rameau, the gods of his instrument, but with a brand new harpsichord concerto by the Czech composer Miroslav Srnka. "With all-forgiving peace" is how this commissioned composition by the Gürzenich Orchestra is to be played. Hope does not die.

scroll top