Gala concert at the opening of the season


Sept. 6, 2020
2 p.m.
Zusatztermin Tickets

Igor Strawinsky

Concerto for Piano and Wind Instruments (1923-24)

Ayanna Witter-Johnson

»Unconditionally« for voice, oboe, strings and percussion (2020)

Richard Strauss

»Metamorphosen« (1945), study for 23 solo strings

Further events

»Everything is in transformation«, thus an approximate translation of the title of Richard Strauss’ Metamorphosen. This is also true of the Gürzenich Orchestra’s concert season, which has undergone further change to accommodate current distancing rules. The »Study for 23 Solo Strings« which Richard Strauss wrote in 1945, still under the impression of World War II, is a work of grief and farewell. In the context of the season opening gala concert, however, it also represents a hopeful launch of a season of transformations. The tradition of the piano concerto was transformed by Igor Stravinsky by eschewing string instruments while sticking to classical form – thereby creating a fascinating new sound with a wind orchestra in which baroque and modern sounds mingle cheerfully. Two extraordinary artists open the season together with François-Xavier Roth: star pianist Yuja Wang and the young composer and performer Ayanna Witter-Johnson.

scroll top