subscription 12


June 28, 2021
8 p.m.
Kölner Philharmonie Cancelled

Georg Friedrich Haas

»Konzert für Klangwerk« for Percussion and Orchestra (2019). German premiere

Anton Bruckner

Symphony No. 5 in B-flat major (1873–75)

Anton Bruckner questioned the certainties of European symphonic music - despite never actually hearing his Symphony No. 5 performed, and the fact that neither Its first performance in 1894 nor the first printed version corresponded to the 1878 autograph. This is music full of loneliness and quietude, with pauses lasting so long that only very few conductors can tolerate them to this day. Chief conductor François-Xavier Roth continues his concert cycle »Brucker the Modernist«, demonstrating how archaic and at the same time avant-gardist such pausing can be. In such a pause, we can also sense the reverberation of the percussion sculpture which Georg Friedrich Haas, master of metamorphoses, has constructed for his percussion concerto Konzert für Klangwerk und Orchester. From more than one hundred metal parts, some of them sourced at a scrapyard, he assembles a fascinating instrument for Christoph Sietzen. The shooting-star percussionist seems to paint sounds into the concert space, which then reverberates with colourful harmonies.

scroll top