subscription 4


Dec. 13, 2020
11 a.m.
Kölner Philharmonie

Johann Sebastian Bach

»Ich habe genug« BWV 82 (1727) Cantata for Bass, Oboe, Strings and Basso continuo

Ludwig van Beethoven

Symphony No. 2 d major (1802)

Tickets go on sale on November 1, 2020

This concert conducted by the American conductor Karina Canelakis combines two worlds. On the one hand, one of Johann Sebastian Bach’s most beautiful solo cantatas, comparable in its depth with Bach’s great Passions. »Ich habe genug« (»I have enough«), Bach has old Simeon sing when he recognises his saviour in the first encounter with the young Jesus and can hold him in his arms. The encounter becomes the musical starting point for three great arias in which the bassist and the principal oboe sing their hearts out. Bass-baritone Gábor Bretz can be heard with the Gürzenich Orchestra for the first time singing this part. Where Bach gives himself completely, Beethoven asserts himself vigorously and markedly. His Second Symphony is no doubt the most melodious of his symphonies; each of its four movements offers a real cornucopia of melodies. And at the same time, it lives through harmonic refinement, wit and surprising »punch lines«, as in the Scherzo. A symphony as a witness of the unconditional will to live: when composing it, Beethoven had to face the fact that his deafness was incurable. »I will seize fate by the throat; it shall certainly not crush me completely«, he wrote to a friend while working on it.

scroll top