subscription 1


Sept. 15, 2020
8 p.m.
Kölner Philharmonie

Michael Jarrell

»4 Impressions« for violin and orchestra (2019). German premiere

Anton Bruckner

Symphony No. 4 in E-flat major »The Romantic« (1874/78/80)

“When Bruckner’s Fourth begins, the entire hall is bathed in E-flat major. That’s a meteorological event”, says composer Helmut Lachenmann, who in this music is fascinated by the tangible, “the tactile as a means of articulation”. One can also surrender to the sound as if it were a natural phenomenon. Admittedly, that is due to structures that Bruckner tinkered with for seven years, until in 1881the work brought him his first success with audiences. 
Michael Jarrell works with the same instrumentation of woods and strings from which Bruckner’s orchestral sound draws its luminosity. The composer, born in Switzerland in 1958, is again composing for the violin as a solo instrument. He completed 4 Impressions for the violinist Renaud Capuçon in 2019. Jarrell’s sensuousness of sound suggests that with this work Principal Conductor François-Xavier Roth will also change the hall’s acoustic meteorology.

scroll top