Jean-Guihen Queyras

Artist in Residence 2021/2022

I am looking forward infinitely to being at home in Cologne as artist in residence during the coming season!

Jean-Guihen Queyras

During the 2021/22 season, the Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne welcomes cellist Jean-Guihen Queyras as artist in residence. The cellist has a worldwide following for his passionate playing, which always remains at the service of the work itself. The French artist dedicates himself to a broad repertoire, performing not only classical and romantic works, but also baroque music and contemporary compositions.

With the Gürzenich Orchestra, the soloist performs a German premiere of a work dedicated to him: the cello concerto »Unveiled« by Vito Žuraj (2020/2021). In another symphony concert, he performs György Ligeti’s Cello Concerto. A passionate chamber musician, Jean-Guihen Queyras also gives a chamber concert with members of the Gürzenich Orchestra.

Queyras looks forward to his collaboration with the Gürzenich Orchestra: »I can hardly wait to perform these two masterpieces of the cello literature side by side with the great Gürzenich Orchestra and the unique François-Xavier Roth!«

Concerts

scroll top

Jean-Guihen Queyras

Artist in Residence 2021/2022

Ich freue mich unendlich darauf, als Artist in Residence in der kommenden Saison in Köln zu Hause sein zu dürfen!

Jean-Guihen Queyras

Für die Saison 21/22 empfängt das Gürzenich-Orchester Köln den Cellisten Jean-Guihen Queyras als Residenzkünstler. Weltweit begeistert der Cellist mit seinem leidenschaftlichen Spiel, das sich doch ganz dem Werk verpflichtet sieht. Dabei widmet sich der Franzose einem breiten Repertoire und interpretiert neben klassisch-romantischen Werken auch Musik der Barockzeit sowie zeitgenössische Kompositionen.

Beim Gürzenich-Orchester wird der Solist ein ihm gewidmetes Werk als deutsche Erstaufführung spielen: das Cellokonzert Unveiled von Vito Žuraj (2020/2021). In einem weiteren Sinfoniekonzert wird er mit György Ligetis Cellokonzert zu hören sein. Als passionierter Kammermusiker gestaltet Jean-Guihen Queyras außerdem ein Kammerkonzert mit Musikern des Gürzenich-Orchesters.

Queyras sieht der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Gürzenich-Orchester mit Freude entgegen: »Ich kann es kaum erwarten, unter anderem zwei Meisterwerke der cellistischen Literatur sowie die Uraufführung von Vito Zurajs Cellokonzert an der Seite des großartigen Gürzenich Orchesters und des einmaligen François-Xavier Roth aufzuführen!«

Konzerte

scroll top