GO Sounds

The concert halls were closed down, but life with music didn't stop. We have used the break to get a deep insight in the orchestra’s heart, where Viola players sing in private, the jazz trumpet plays and Mozart’s piano concertos reveal their magic. We invite you to follow us on our quest!

StudioConcerte

studioconcert #2 - Prokofjews Hebräische Themen

New York had not been waiting for him when Sergei Prokofiev emigrated from Russia in the turmoil of the revolution in 1918. In America, he met the musicians of the Ensemble Zimro and wrote an extraordinary sextet for them, that gained him entry into the New York scene. Are the Hebrew melodies authentic? Or just well fabricated? The soloists of the Gürzenich Orchestra share their fascination for this music.

Blaž Šparovec - clarinet, Anna Heygster and Anna van der Merwe - violins, Felix Weischedel - viola, Georg Heimbach - cello and Stefan Irmer - piano. Presented by Patrick Hahn.

StudioConcert #1 - The Sextett by Erich Wolfgang Korngold

Erich Wolfgang Korngold's string sextet is a fascinating piece of music, written on an epoch threshold. Viennese idiom, sarcastic humor, romantic indulgence, but also the premonition of a turning point, he condenses in this chamber music with orchestral abundance. Before you experience the piece in full length, Patrick Hahn talks to the performers about Korngold's Opus 10, which the composer wrote when he was 17.
With Anna Heygster and Jana Andraschke - violin, Martina Horejsi-Kiefer and Antje Kaufmann - viola and Katharina Apel-Hülshoff and Daniel Raabe - cello. Moderation: Patrick Hahn.

Zuhause bei...

GO Musiker im Portait

Episode 6 - Aaron-Außenhofer Stilz, Soloposaune

Aaron Außenhofer-Stilz is solo trombonist in the Gürzenich Orchestra. Between numerous trombones, he talks about the bursts of energy in Bach's music, a special concert with Mahler's Third and playing Wagner in shorts in Bayreuth.

Episode 5 - Saskia Kwast, Harp

Saskia Kwast play harp in the Guerzenich orchestra. Her harps waiting in the summer house in the garden she talks about arabic music, oriental dances and the energy of baroque music.

Episode 4 - Vincent Royer, Viola

Vincent Royer plays Viola. Just before the lockdown and the start of learning at home for his kids they looted a big sandstone. Learn what he’s doing now these days beside working on his compositions and practicing viola.

Episode 3 - Gerhard Dierig, Viola

Gerhard Dierig obviously not only plays the viola. He sings (not only) under the shower, and he still works on the musical piece he has heard as an unborn child.

Episode 2 - Diana Rohnfelder, Kontrafagott

Diana Rohnfelder play both bassoon and contrabassoon at the orchestra. She’s practicing for her examination concert and invites us to listen to Edith Piaf and Mozart.

Episode 1 - Tom Owen, Solo-Oboe

Tom Owen holds the position of principal oboe at the Guerzenich orchestra. Listen to music for him is like cooking – one thing leads to another. Crafting mouth pieces for his instrument we listen to Kenny Wheeler and Antonio Vivaldi.

scroll top

GO Sounds

Die Konzertsäle waren eine Weile verwaist, aber die Beschäftigung mit Musik hörte deshalb nicht auf. Wir haben die Zeit dazu genutzt, tiefer in das Herz des Orchesters zu hören, wo Bratschen heimlich singen, Jazz-Trompeten spielen und Mozarts Klavierkonzerte ihren Zauber entfalten. Eine Entdeckungsreise, zu der wir herzlich einladen!

StudioConcerte

studioconcert #2 - Prokofjews Hebräische Themen

New York hatte nicht auf ihn gewartet, als Sergej Prokofjew 1918 in den Revolutionswirren aus Russland auswanderte. In Amerika traf er die Musiker des Ensemble Zimro und schrieb für sie - und ihren Klarinettisten Simeon Bellison - ein außergewöhnliches Sextett, das ihm Eintritt in die New Yorker Szene verschaffte. Sind die Hebräischen Melodien authentisch? Oder nur gut erfunden? Die Solisten des Gürzenich-Orchesters lassen Sie an ihrer Faszination für diese Musik teilhaben.

Mit Blaž Šparovec - Klarinette, Anna Heygster und Anna van der Merwe - Violine, Felix Weischedel - Viola, Georg Heimbach - Violoncello und Stefan Irmer - Klavier. Moderation: Patrick Hahn

StudioConcert #1 - Korngolds Sextett

Erich Wolfgang Korngolds Streichsextett ist ein faszinierendes Musikstück, geschrieben an einer Epochenschwelle. Wienerisches Idiom, sarkastischer Humor, Romantische Schwelgerei, aber auch die Vorahnung einer Zeitenwende kondensiert er in dieser Kammermusik zu orchestraler Fülle. Bevor Sie das Stück in voller Länge erleben, spricht Patrick Hahn mit den Mitwirkenden über Korngolds Opus 10, das der Komponist mit 17 Jahren schrieb.
Mit Anna Heygster und Jana Andraschke - Violine, Martina Horejsi-Kiefer und Antje Kaufmann - Viola sowie Katharina Apel-Hülshoff und Daniel Raabe - Violoncello. Moderation: Patrick Hahn.

Zuhause bei...

GO Musiker im Portait

Episode 6 - Aaron-Außenhofer Stilz, Soloposaune

Aaron Außenhofer-Stilz ist Soloposaunist im Gürzenich-Orchester. Zwischen zahlreichen Posaunen erzählt er von den Energieschüben der Musik Bachs, einem besonderen Konzert mit Mahlers Dritter und von Wagner in kurzen Hosen in Bayreuth.

Episode 5 - Saskia Kwast, Harfe

Saskia Kwast ist Harfenistin im Gürzenich-Orchester. Während ihre Harfen im Gartenhäuschen auf sie warten, erzählt sie von arabischer Musik, orientalischem Tanz und der Energie der Barockmusik.

Episode 4 - Vincent Royer, Bratsche

Vincent Royer ist Bratscher im Gürzenich-Orchester. Vor dem Homeschooling hat er mit seinen Söhnen noch einen großen Sandstein erbeutet und arbeitet in diesen Tagen neben der Bratsche auch an seinen Kompositionen.

Episode 3 - Gerhard Dierig, Bratsche

Gerhard Dierig ist Bratscher im Gürzenich-Orchester. Er singt nicht nur unter der Dusche und übt immer noch das Stück, das er schon im Mutterleib hörte.

Episode 2 - Diana Rohnfelder, Kontrafagott

Diana Rohnfelder ist Fagottistin und Kontrafagottistin im Gürzenich-Orchester. Sie übt für ihr Konzertexamen und lädt uns ein zu Musik von Edith Piaf und Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.

Episode 1 - Tom Owen, Solo-Oboe

Tom Owen ist Solo-Oboist des Gürzenich-Orchester Köln. Musikhören ist für ihn wie Kochen - eines führt zum Anderen. Beim Rohrebauen hören wir Musik von Kenny Wheeler und Antonio Vivaldi.

scroll top