Symphony concert 5

Jan. 13, 2019
Kölner Philharmonie

Veranstaltung in meinem
Kalender hinzufügen:

Robert Schumann

Overture c minor from: »Genoveva« op. 81 (1847/48)

Frédéric Chopin

Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 2 f minor op. 21 (1829-30)

Alexander von Zemlinsky

Lyric Symphony after 7 poems by Rabindranath Tagore op. 18 for soprano, baritone and grand orchestra (1922-23)

  • Jennifer Holloway Soprano
  • Michael Nagy Baritone
  • Yeol Eum Son Piano
  • Gürzenich-Orchester Köln
  • Pablo González Conductor

»I have caught you and wrapt you, / my love, in the net of my music.« Alexander von Zemlinsky’s »Lyric Symphony« tells of an all-consuming love, alternately from a man’s and a woman’s perspectives. Longing, submission, possession, embracing, tedium, disillusion and parting in the verses of the Bengali writer Tagore are congenially transposed into music by Zemlinsky: lust and tonal colours fuse in a unique symphonic form. Chopin’s second piano concerto is also considered a »most soulful outpouring of love«. Robert Schumann perked up his ears and heard the political appeal hidden within: »Chopin's works are cannons concealed in flowers.« Cannons also call Count Siegfried away from his Countess Genoveva; jealousy, slander and wizardry almost lead their love into an abyss. The entire drama of this love is already present in the Overture to »Genoveva«. Pablo González will master the extreme moods in this concert alongside an exquisite trio of soloists.

scroll top