subscription 10


May 9, 2021
11 a.m.
Kölner Philharmonie

York Höller

Entrée for Brass*

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Piano Concerto No. 22 E-flat-major (1785)

Robert Schumann

Symphony No. 3 E-flat-major »The Rhenish« (1850)

When performing Robert Schumann’s works, Gürzenich-Kapellmeister François-Xavier Roth is always seeking to emulate the flow of the River Rhine. Especially here, in the overflowing, bubbly Rhenish Symphony in E-flat-major. Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 22, one of the crown jewels of the repertoire, sparkles in the same key. Artist in Residence Emanuel Ax will be the soloisin this marvelous piece.

The concert will open with a composition commissioned by the Gürzenich Orchestra as part of the »Fanfares for a New Beginning« series. In this work, the Cologne-based composer York Höller would like to mirror the time in which it was written -  the corona pandemic in all its threats. Nevertheless, »Entrée« is not a piece with only a negative message, but rather calls for a humane »Nevertheless« in a phase full of questions and uncertainty.

scroll top