subscription 5


Jan. 12, 2020
11 a.m.
Kölner Philharmonie Tickets

Karol Szymanowski

Suite from the opera »Król Roger« (1926)

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Violin concerto no. 4 D major (1775)

Karol Szymanowski

Symphony no. 4 for piano and orchestra (1932)

With his opera Król Roger, Karol Szymanowski revives a dream of uninhibited sensuality and freedom: a handsome young shepherd confuses the court of King Roger because he preaches about another god. Roger does not, however, have the shepherd punished, but instead falls for his beauty. The shepherd turns out to be Dionysus, god of ecstasy and intoxication. Szymanowski’s 4thSymphony also shows this drive to free oneself from conventions: he wrote that he wanted to compose “entertaining music for a broader audience”, whereby his yearning for joie de vivre predominated. Not entirely selflessly, Szymanowski placed a pianist, that is to say himself, at the centre of this light-hearted orchestral sound. Mozart’s 4thViolin Concerto bears witness that the simplest is often the most difficult – and when it succeeds: the most wonderful. The first guest conductor of the Gürzenich Orchestra, Nicholas Collon, will take on this colourful programme with the sensitive pianist Cédric Tiberghien and Noa Wildschut, a young sensation on the violin.

scroll top