Igor Strawinsky

chamber music for strings
»Suite italienne« Igor Stravinsky's »Suite italienne«, arranged for three cellos by Georg Heimbach ⎮ Bonian Tian, Angela Chang, Georg Heimbach, cello. All artworks shown are subject to copyright (c) of VG-Bildkunst Bonn.
»Three Pieces for String Quartet« »Three Pieces for String Quartet« ⎮ Jordan Ofiesh, violin. Anna van der Merwe, violin. Öykü Canpolat, viola. Jee-Hye Bae, violoncello
»Élegy« for viola solo Igor Stravinsky's »Élegy« for viola solo ⎮ Nathan Braude, viola

»Suite italienne« (1932) Bearbeitung für drei Violoncelli von Georg Heimbach
Bonian Tian, Angela Chang und Georg Heimbach: Violoncelli 

»Drei Stücke für Streichquartett« (1914–18)
Jordan Ofiesh, Violine Anna van der Merwe: Violinen
Öykü Canpolat: Viola
Jee-Hye Bae: Violoncello

»Élegie« für Viola solo (1944)
Nathan Braude: Viola

Igor Stravinsky: chamber music for strings

He was born in 1882 in Oranienburg in the Russian Tsarist Empire, when horse-drawn carriages were still a main means of transport, and he died in New York City in 1971, when the Americans were already celebrating their second moon landing. As incomprehensibly rich in events and progression as the time span of Igor Stravinsky's life is, his work is equally groundbreaking an of a wide range. On April 6, 2021, the 50th anniversary of his death, we commemorated the composer and his work with a concert marathon - and Stravinsky the performer, as 90 years ago he conducted the Gürzenich Orchestra in Cologne with his own works. We were guests at the Museum Ludwig in Cologne with chamber music for strings and would like to take this opportunity to thank the museum for its hospitality.

scroll top