Chamber concert 6

June 1, 2019
5 p.m.
Kölner Philharmonie

Veranstaltung in meinem
Kalender hinzufügen:

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Serenade C minor KV 388 (384a) »Nachtmusique« for two oboes, two clarinets, two cornets, two bassoons and a double bass (1782)

Jacques Offenbach/Andreas N. Tarkmann

»Offenbach in der Unterwelt« Suite for wind nonet »Offenbachiade« (2004)

»La belle Hélène«, »Fantasio«, »La vie Parisienne«, »Orphée aux enfers« – perhaps simply mentioning their titles will provoke operetta lovers to sing along. But the arranger Andreas Tarkmann manages a miracle in his »Offenbachiade«: he preserves the sparkling champagne mood of Jacques Offenbach’s music with a tour through less well-known moments in his oeuvre. In Offenbach’s birthday month, the programme will dare to put it to the test, presenting the »Mozart of the Champs-Elysées« together with the real Mozart. The latter pulled one over on the festive occasion, composing a true wind symphony with the Serenade in C minor, not merely incidental light music. It will be presented by the newly formed wind octet of the Gürzenich Orchestra.

scroll top